High Five

Trini’s scared of heights!! ME TOO!

That was my thoughts when I first saw this episode all those years ago, of course as I’ve aged my fear of heights has gone.

This is also the episode where Billy creates the wrist communicators. OH MY DAYS! I needed one of those in my life and I still do. I used to walk around just talking to my wrist, pretending I was talking to Kimberley and about to save the world…of course I wasn’t but it was good to dream.

Finster creates the monster “Bones” in this episode, a terrifying concept when you think about it. A villain who can make his head come off and fly around, who wouldn’t be scared out their skin at that? Although, personally I don’t think anything in Power Rangers will ever be as terrifying as a Putty…

 

putty_

Those things are truly horrendous, I’m pretty sure that I wasn’t the only person to have nightmares about them. In episode two there’s a very strange fight scene where the Rangers and the Putties appear to be having a group hug, I’ve always been weirded out by that, then about 30 seconds later the Putties run away to comedic music….I still don’t know how I feel about that.

Bones can fire energy bolts from his eyes, and probably controls the time device. That’s basically the pep talk that Zordon gives the Rangers before he tells them “It’s Morphin time.” then we see the Rangers blasters which look like those giant lighters you get for lighting gas cookers etc…

71crrwdy5fl__sl1500_
                                           Is it a lighter or a Power Rangers Blaster?

Don’t get me wrong, I laugh at some of the production values of the 1993 childrens TV show but underneath it all, it’s still a fantastic show. Episode two now out of the way, time to move onto episode three.

GO GO POWER RANGERS

 

Leave a Reply

